~Land Slide

~Land Slide

I was just laid off. The last time that happened to me I wasn’t married, walking and worked for Nordstrom. On paper I was never laid off. My boss called me in her office and with tears streaming down her face told me they were going from four coordinators to two. Yup I WASN’T one of the two they were keeping. At the same time she valued me as an employee. She was not only going to pay me the end of the month. Oh and she was NOT putting my termination papers in till then. Her hope was that I would find another position with company before then. She knew have MS and needed health insurances.

Well it’s a different day and a different way. Allow me to BACK that thing up and start at the beginning. Our washer and dryer have been on borrowed time for a while now. Albee holds his breathe lately every time he does laundry. It’s so bad our neighbors told us they hear the dryer scraping and rattle. Saturday we bite the bullet and bought new ones. Our saving almost covered. Sunday I was laid off. Monday the Block did our taxes. Yes you guessed it we owe. Thursday our dish washer stops working! Saturday my MS was like well if everything is falling apart I might as well join the club.

I’ve never been in a natural disaster. In NO shape or form do I mean to minimize the devastation. At the same time I imagine it feels like this. First It’s raining. Then it gets progressively harder and harder. The wind starts in seeming out of nowhere. Next you here and feel something, your eyes dart around the room looking for its source. Crash, crackle, POP! Am I falling? Why aren’t my feet touching the ground? I feel like someone just punched me as hard as they could in my gut. But no one stands at my side. Like most natural disasters it’s no one’s fault. The business has slowed to a crawl. House hold appliances wear out. The MS flares from time to time. The cruelty is when it all happens at once.

I don’t remember closing my eyes. But I opened them and hung up the phone. I was in that eerie calm after a storm. What just happened? I’ve been back to work since 2010. The money back then was extra. Then I found Pushing Boundaries. Truly the best thing I’ve found in my handicap life. I credit it as keeping me mobile and strong. Albee’s money covers house hold necessities. Boundaries was all me. There’s also senior-citizen sisters that use to be in my congregation I employee. Her husband died at year ago thus her financial situation changed. She needed the money and we needed the help. So one day a week she comes over cleans our condo and cooks for us. I can’t even think about how I’m going to tell her.

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!!!!! WHAT A WEEK, JUST SHOOT ME KNOW!

So Daddy and Mommy to rescue. I forget no matter how old I get I’m still their baby. I told my mom about everything. Not in an attempt of getting anything. Just purely factoid base, they’re senior-citizens on a fixed budget. Wouldn’t you know it before I could say BOO she called me back. She had talked to my dad and they wanted pay the same sister to cook and clean twice a month. Pushing Boundaries is another story. I have enough in savings to pay for the next month and half.

So I’m in the job market. It’s interesting back in 2010 I had just went in the wheelchair. I was lost. Then my boss approached me and offered me a job. He saw something in me that I didn’t see in myself back then. He saw value. For that I will always be grateful. The job got me off the couch, out of sweats and back on the block.

I don’t know what I will do for work, I don’t. You know how it always say’s on strip clubs, 25 pretty girls and one ugly one. Maybe they’d go for 25 pretty girls and one handicapped. Seriously though being handicapped does limit me. It’s funny my now ex-boss still view’s me as valuable, when many employers wouldn’t. He told me I can use him as a reference and if his business picks up in a few months he wants me back.

I can’t just sit and hope to go back to my old job. It could not happen. Whatever happen’s it will be ok though. I know who I am and what limitation’s I’m working with. I’m still a hard worker, loyal and do my best to give Nordie’s style customer service. Like Mz. Arie says, “I’m not the average girl from the video…when I look in the mirror the only one there is me. Every freckle on my face is where it’s supposed to be. I know my creator didn’t make NO mistakes on me…I’m [learning] to love myself unconditionally because I am a queen.” I’m just say’n…. http://www youtube.com/watch?v=_J4zOYEOW5k

4 thoughts on “~Land Slide

  1. C. Walker says:

    You are. The most amazing person any Employer wouldl Love to have you as an employee. That’s what families is for to help one another and to love one another. Working or not Allison you’re still a very amazing person that we truly love,and Jehovah does too.
    Love you always Mom

  2. V_Lo says:

    With every door that closes another opens!!! I know how losing the job feels just as much as I know there will be another one and there is a greater plan. Love you.

  3. Thanks Lady. I know if anyone knows what I’m talking about you do girl.

Leave a Reply

