~Babe

~Babe

We just spent last Thursday to Monday in Oregon visiting Albee’s Mom.  While were very glad to see her, staying at her house is a challenge.  She lives’ in a spilt level home and both bathrooms are upstairs. Aiyyyy!!  Yup you guess it my baby is carry me up those stairs several times a day.  Oh but wait his work is not done yet.  It’s a late 70’s home with narrow doorways.  My wheelchair doesn’t fit threw them.  So baby has to carry me up stairs, into the teny tiny bathroom, perform a Dancing with The STARS move swinging my legs from groom carrying a bride to my butt resting on the top on his thigh briefly to re-adjust his arms then swings my legs vertically in front of him.  Then he straightens my left leg with is right knee and balances me on it while he shimmy’s down my Victorias.  Lastly plops me down on the seat.  This entire procces he does on one breath of energy. It’s so Balboa (R.)!

We prefer to stay in handicap accessible hotels but it’s not always an option.  Taking a shower in someone’s home is as challenging and requires Albert to do more.  At home our condo is retro fitted for a handi.  When I’m on vaKa I really feel like silly putty needing so much help.  Albert just takes it all in stride.  It’s times like these I realize how special he is.

He married me while I was still walking.  Yet he has always said he knew what he was getting into marring someone with MS.  Don’t get it twisted he fights with me like I’m an able body woman.  When I was walking with a cane and was standing by our bed he use to shove me so I would fall on it.  Then get a GOOD laugh in watching me STRUGGLE like Humpty Dumpty TRY’n to get up.  YEAH IT B LIKE THAT SOMETIMES!

Every morning he helps me in and out of the shower and get dressed for the New day.  He is an efficientnado at helping me get dressed.  There is The Olympics, Para-Olympics and there eeds to be The Caretaker games.  Albert would have those on LOCK!  He’d be like; Cocktail dress, pearl necklace, silver drop earrings, COMPRESSION knee highs AAAND silver bracelet NOTHIN BUT NET!  After he done did IT the announcers would be like and that sets a new record in CARETAKER dressing history.  Then Rick would say to Rack (you know sports casters always come in pairs) did you see how he handled the delicate pearl necklace?  So precise and FAST.  Under 10 minutes?  That’s one for the records books Rack.

Here is one downfall to having a husband that loves you.   So we are down in Sutherlin, his Mom’s 7,000 population city.  You probably already have an idea where I’m goin.  Ok we go to Jakki’s Sunday meeting.  I get ready like I’m going in Sea town.  On the way I look at myself in the car mirror and asked Albeeif I looked alright.  Is my red lipstick was too much.  He responded like, why you trip’n?  You look beautiful.  Then we got there…I knew it would be lily white I’d been there before.  But it was like the Walton’s to my right and very simple clothing.  Don’t get me wrong everyone was very nice.  Many hugs were given.  Witch almost made it worse.   When I was meeting people I felt like Hi My name is WHO? My name is What?  freak-aw freak-aw HUSSEY RANEY!  Y-E-A-H note to self, Sutherlin=Clinique gloss not NARRS ‘Fire down Below’ Red.

No I’m not kidding that really is the colors name.  I know I KNOW!!!  That SHOULD have told me everything I needed to know.

One time in Sutherlin we were at the store (I was walking back then).  So we were in line to check out.  Albee out of the blue lays one on me.  Once we were in the car he tells me a woman had given him a scornful look for being with a black woman.  So he looked at her dead in her FACE and kissed me.  My baby got my back even when I’m not aware.

When we went to Maui it was like five hours and some pennies flight.  Yes my MAN got both of us in a teny weenie bathroom in the back of the plane so I could go potty.  The flight attendant said she had never seen that done before and it gave a NEW meaning to “the mile high club”.

I thank Albert for be’n BRAVE enough not only love a handicap girl with a chronic illness But giving me a life worth living.  My words are just Rambling thoughts on paper.  The attached is a PERFECT pairing of an artist spot on description of MY Boy Raney.  Please allow your ears to take a sip.  Your meal will be more COMPLETE with it. CHEERS!

5 thoughts on “~Babe

  1. shandra says:

    I almost fell off my chair when I read that Albert pushed you on the bed when you were using your cane! The other night I was in a weird position, on the floor with the worst case of cramps I’ve had in a long time. Bob saw me and said: Look Autumn- Your mom’s praying… Gotta love them… The song was so perfect with your story and despite your setbacks, Jehovah has really blessed you! You keep writin’ and I’ll keep smilin’ -Shandra

  2. Amy Eversole says:

    So beautifully written.

  3. Tammy Alonzo says:

    This was a beautiful tribute to your husband.

Leave a Reply

